Changes to ASX non-settlement days commencing 2017

What is changing?

To ensure alignment with the Reserve Bank Information and Transfer System (RITS) and other securities settlement facilities, from 1 January 2017, the ASX will no longer include local public holidays as non-settlement days.

How will it affect me?

The following local public holidays in NSW and VIC will need to be considered when calculating settlement. We have included the relevant 2017 dates for your reference.

  • VIC Labour Day – 13 March
  • NSW Bank Holiday – 7 August
  • NSW Labour Day – 2 October
  • VIC Melbourne Cup Day – 7 November

The ASX will continue to be closed for both trading and settlement activity on weekends and the following 2017 national public holidays:

  • New Year’s Day – 2 January
  • Australia Day – 26 January
  • Good Friday – 14 April
  • Easter Monday – 17 April
  • ANZAC Day – 25 April
  • Queen’s Birthday – 12 June
  • Christmas Day – 25 December
  • Boxing Day – 26 December

How can I find my settlement details?

If you are ever unsure about your settlement details, please refer to your confirmation note. These will be sent to you within 24 hours following trade execution or can be located under Trading > Share Orders > Confirmations.

For more information about these changes, please visit the ASX website at

Published: 16 January 2017